By Grace Alone

The real life struggles of a Christian mom

Proverbs July 21, 2008

Filed under: parenting — Marissa Henley @ 8:10 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

A wise woman (my pastor’s wife) pointed out recently that there are 31 chapters in Proverbs, and perhaps we should be reading one a day each month. So in July, I set out to read Proverbs. I’m a little behind the one chapter a day schedule . . . probably on the two-month regimen. But it has been fabulous. I’m amazed at how the Holy Spirit has brought specific verses to my attention at just the right time. Here are some verses that have stood out to me:

Yes, if you call out for insight and raise your voice for understand, if you seek it like silver and search for it as for hidden treasures, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God. Prov 2:3-5. Am I searching for wisdom from God or for earthly riches?

The tongue of the righteous is choice silver; the heart of the wicked is of little worth. The lips of the righteous feed many, but fools die for lack of sense. Prov 10:20-21. For the sake of my children and others around me, is righteousness or foolishness on my tongue?

Whoever trusts in his riches will fall, but the righteous will flourish like a green leaf. Prov 11:28. I think you all know this is an issue for me.

A prudent man conceals knowledge, but the heart of fools proclaims folly. Prov 12:23. This one has me evaluating what I write on my blog.

Anxiety in a man’s heart weighs him down, but a good word makes him glad. Prov 12:25. Feeling weighed down? I do often.

A wise son hears his father’s instruction, but a scoffer does not listen to rebuke. Prov 13:1. I want to be receptive to my heavenly Father’s instruction, so I can teach my children how to grow in wisdom as well.

Whoever guards his mouth preserves his life; he who opens wide his lips comes to ruin. The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied. Prov 13:3-4. Ouch and double ouch. That darn snooze button betrays me every time.

Whoever spares the rod hates his son, but he who loves him is diligent to discipline him. Prov 13:24. I’m sure this one doesn’t need explanation if you know I have a 2-year-old.

As you can see, there’s all kinds of good stuff there. I encourage you to read Proverbs with me–if you start now, you will have a head start on August!

 

3 Responses to “Proverbs”

  1. schwich Says:

    Sorry for the typos! I’ll try again!

    I’m in! What a great challenge. Thanks for sharing. And I agree, the Holy Spirit does put the right passage in front of us just at the right time. =) Shane heartreflections.wordpress.com

  2. Lynette Says:

    Growing up, my dad read a chapter of Proverbs to us almost every night. Many mornings, I’ve woken up knowing I should get up, but not wanting to, when a little voice in my head says: “A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest, and poverty will come on you like a bandit and scarcity like an armed man” (Prov 6:10,11). I’ve come to realize that it’s not just monetary poverty, but spiritual poverty that comes on me when I fail to get up and spend time in God’s word. Another, slightly humorous reference is Pr 26:14 “As a door turns on its hinges, so a sluggard turns on his bed.”
    Because my dad read these to us over and over, many, many verses from Proverbs are in my memory–not from any effort of mine, but just because of repetition. This is one of the reasons that I firmly believe that if we just keep telling our kids the truth of God’s Word, they will eventually know it and understand it. I didn’t understand it all when my dad read it, but you can bet that when the situation is right, God brings verses to mind and shows me how to live in light of them.

  3. […] materialism, parenting, Proverbs, Proverbs 31, self-control, spending, spiritual growth, wisdom I’ve been reading Proverbs this summer and finally finished.  It was excellent!  (Of course.)  Here are some of my favorite […]


Leave a comment